CSI Background Screening Blog

Get the Real Deal!

There are only two ways for an employer to obtain a criminal background check on an applicant or an employee. In Canada, before a police agency can conduct a criminal records check on anyone, they must obtain signed informed consent from the individual. Your employer cannot conduct a criminal check without your consent. Neither can your father-in-law to be or your new bff.
Only you can give signed consent to have a criminal records search conducted on your behalf.
Employers can have their employee attend a local police station for a criminal records search and have the applicant provide a copy of the results to their HR department, or they can have the criminal records search conducted by a third party background screening agency.
So while there may be two ways, there is only one right way and that is using a third party background screening agency.
First and foremost, employers should not allow their applicant to have an opportunity to change the results. Scanners, printers and readers have become very sophisticated pieces of equipment – they are even used to print counterfeit currency! It is not difficult to manipulate a document particularly when there is nothing unique on the form such as a protected watermark or a hologram. The results issued by 98 per cent of police agencies are very open to manipulation.
And before you think it can’t happen here, it already has. We are aware of several cases where the applicant turned in a result to their employer that was not the original issued by the police agency. In particular we are aware of a case in Cape Breton where an applicant changed the result to show they did not have a criminal record when in fact they did. This applicant went on to obtain employment for several months, during which time they committed a criminal act while at the workplace. In most cases the manipulation is not discovered until it is too late, with catastrophic results.
Third party background screeners obtain results directly from the police agency and provide the results directly to the employer, not the applicant, so the applicant never has an opportunity to change the results.
Often we find employers receive the results but are then unsure what to do about it. At CSI we are always ready to discuss the results, what they mean and provide any guidance we feel can assist employers with making a decision. And when you call us a real human will answer the phone!
Additionally, we make it easy for you to receive your results, delivered directly to your web portal and stored there for easy access when it’s convenient for you.
Finally, there are pricing advantages to going with a background screening agency. Because we are dealing with police agencies in volume, we can often negotiate better pricing, which means better pricing for the employer.
So for better prices, convenience, accuracy and the comfort of knowing you always have a friend to give you help and advice, you know where to turn.

VSS est-il la meilleure solution ? Comprendre vss

À VSS ou non à VSS?

Les employeurs qui exigent actuellement que les demandeurs se soumettent à une recherche dans le secteur vulnérable (VSS) dans le cadre de leur examen préalable devraient tenir compte des avantages de procéder à des fouilles améliorées du casier judiciaire à leur place.

De plus en plus, nous concluons que la recherche vss, qui est essentiellement une recherche dans la base de données sur les délinquants sexuels graciés détenue par la GRC, ne répondant pas aux attentes des employeurs. De nombreux employeurs pensent que la recherche vss leur donne accès à tous les casiers judiciaires d’un demandeur potentiel, mais ce n’est tout simplement pas le cas.

La fouille vss ne renvoie que les dossiers des personnes qui ont un casier judiciaire gracié ou suspendu pour une infraction sexuelle. Il ne vous dira pas s’ils ont été graciés pour toute autre infraction. Il n’y a actuellement que 14 000 personnes dans la base de données sur les délinquants sexuels graciés. En 2012, le gouvernement a légiféré pour que toute personne reconnue coupable d’une infraction sexuelle contre un mineur ne soit plus admissible à un dossier gracié ou suspendu, de sorte qu’il y a eu peu de croissance dans la base de données et, comme il ne s’agit pas d’une base de données qui est « tenue », elle comprend les dossiers des personnes décédées.

Pour que des personnes obtiennent une réhabilitation ou un casier judiciaire suspendu, la personne doit d’abord être arrêtée ou accusée d’une infraction sexuelle, se présenter au tribunal et être déclarée coupable, être déclarée coupable de l’infraction et une peine doit être prononcée. La personne doit alors purger la totalité de sa peine, payer des amendes, effectuer toute restitution et compléter toute probation, etc. Une fois que tout cela a été terminé, alors l’horloge commence sur la période d’attente obligatoire. Ils doivent attendre de 5 à 10 ans avant même de pouvoir demander le pardon ou le dossier suspendu. Une fois qu’ils présentent une demande et obtiennent tous les documents et documents nécessaires, ils soumettent leur demande et, dans la plupart des cas, il faut au moins 18 mois avant qu’une réponse ne soit fournie. D’après ce qui précède et les renseignements reçus de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles, il serait impossible pour toute personne de moins de 35 ans d’être au Registre des délinquants sexuels graciés ou suspendus.

Lorsque les services de police effectuent une fouille dans le secteur vulnérable, ils verront s’il y a un « coup » sur le sexe et la date de naissance, mais ils ne verront aucun détail. Le demandeur est ensuite pris en empreintes digitales et une demande est faite au ministère fédéral de la Sécurité publique pour examiner l’information et déterminer s’il estime que l’employeur devrait être mis au courant de la correspondance.

Fait intéressant, sur les plus de 2 millions de recherches dans les secteurs vulnérables effectuées chaque année au Canada, moins de 0,005 p. 100 aboutit à une correspondance – donc 100.

En 2016, le gouvernement a déterminé que le ministère fédéral de la Sécurité publique devrait « réinterpréter » les règlements entourant le retour d’une correspondance. Avant 2016, 95 % de tous les matchs étaient retournés aux employeurs, mais depuis cette date, ce pourcentage est tombé à moins de 40 %. La réinterprétation comprenait des directives au ministère selon laquelle il devrait évaluer des choses telles que la question de savoir si le demandeur a commis ou non l’infraction sexuelle contre un adulte ou un enfant. Si l’infraction a été commise contre un adulte, il est probable qu’il ne retournera aucune correspondance pour un demandeur qui travaillera avec des enfants. De plus, on a demandé au ministère fédéral de la Sécurité publique d’examiner des choses comme la durée de l’infraction, la question de savoir si le demandeur faisait partie d’un groupe ethnique et la gravité de l’infraction, entre autres critères.

Cela signifie que 60 % des personnes dans la base de données ayant un dossier suspendu ou gracié pour une infraction sexuelle sont renvoyées aux employeurs sous le nom de CLEAR ou « sans dossier » alors qu’en réalité elles ont un dossier, mais un organisme fédéral a déterminé qu’un employeur ne devrait pas en être au courant. Il s’agit d’un très faux sentiment de sécurité pour l’embauche de gestionnaires. La GRC a déclaré publiquement qu’elle s’en prend à la réinterprétation de ces règlements et qu’elle fait état de cas de personnes ayant des dossiers « troublants » qui ont été retournées comme étant claires pour travailler avec les personnes vulnérables de notre société.

Tout ce qui précède peut prendre des semaines à compléter; au moment où le demandeur se rend au poste de police pour effectuer le SSBC, pour prendre les empreintes digitales, le cas échéant, pour que le ministère fédéral procède à un examen et qu’il rende une décision, ainsi que pour que le document final soit créé et envoyé par la poste à l’employeur.

Une vérification améliorée des casiers judiciaires, effectuée avec le consentement du demandeur, ne nécessite aucune visite physique, est retournée en moins de 24 heures et recherche et renvoie les condamnations criminelles, y compris les infractions sexuelles pour lesquelles une réhabilitation n’a pas été accordée, en attendant les accusations, les accusations qui n’ont pas donné lieu à des condamnations, des mandats, des interdictions, des ordonnances de probation et des perquisitions dans les indices de la police locale.

Le à emporter ici, c’est que vous devriez peser les alternatives à VSS:

-Si vos demandeurs ont moins de 35 ans, ils ne peuvent pas être dans la base de données sur les délinquants sexuels graciés.

-Le ministère ne renvoie une correspondance positive que dans 38 % des cas, retenant les dossiers de 62 % des demandes lorsque le demandeur a effectivement un casier judiciaire pour infraction sexuelle graciée.

-Seulement 0,005 % du VSS effectué au Canada se traduira par un match.

Une vérification améliorée des casiers judiciaires est moins coûteuse pour les employeurs, plus rapide, plus pratique et recherche beaucoup plus de dossiers qu’une recherche vss. Le facteur le plus important est que la recherche sur les casiers judiciaires améliorés révélera si votre demandeur a des accusations, des interdictions ou des ordonnances de probation en instance, qu’une fouille vss ne montrera pas.

C’est une pomme ou une orange ? Comparaison des services

Content que ce soit dans le rétroviseur!
Eh bien, mettez une épinglette en 2020! C’était l’année de l’enfer ! Ici, à CSI Screening, nous avons tourné fermement le dos à l’année qui ne sera pas nommée, et nous essayons d’examiner positivement 2021.
Une chose que nous attendions avec impatience depuis longtemps est le lancement de notre nouveau site Web, que vous pouvez trouver à https://www.csiscreening.com/. S’il vous plaît jetez un oeil et si vous avez des questions ou voir des erreurs s’il vous plaît laissez-moi savoir. Si vous êtes un utilisateur régulier de notre site Web s’il vous plaît nous donner vos commentaires sur la façon dont le nouveau site fonctionne pour vous.

C’est une pomme ? Ou une orange ?


Ma mère me disait toujours de comparer les pommes aux pommes et aux oranges aux oranges. Rappelez-vous, je pense que nous étions probablement dans un cadre d’épicerie quand elle m’a dit cela, mais il s’applique à qui vous choisissez d’effectuer vos vérifications des antécédents pour vous aussi. Il ya beaucoup d’entreprises se déplaçant dans l’industrie du dépistage des antécédents offrant des contrôles criminels à des prix très bas avec un redressement presque instantané. Ce qui semble trop beau pour être vrai le plus souvent, c’est. Bon nombre de ces entreprises offrent une recherche de casier judiciaire à des prix bas et un demi-tour de 5 minutes.
En réalité, ils effectuent une recherche dans une base de données connue dans l’industrie sous le nom de Liste mondiale de surveillance du terrorisme au lieu d’une recherche réelle du casier judiciaire canadien. Bien qu’une recherche sur la liste de surveillance terroriste mondiale soit excellente pour ce pour quoi elle est conçue, il ne s’agit nullement d’une fouille du casier judiciaire canadien. Cependant, il est beaucoup moins cher pour eux de mener cette recherche et de la transmettre comme une recherche de casier judiciaire à l’imprudent. Nous offrons une recherche améliorée sur la liste mondiale de surveillance du terrorisme à nos propres clients, mais nous ne l’avons certainement jamais offerte comme substitut à une recherche du casier judiciaire canadien.
Si on vous offre d’excellents prix et que vous vous retournez instantanément, posez quelques questions. Dans quelle base de données effectuez-vous une recherche dans le dossier criminel canadien? S’ils répondent par quelque chose d’autre que le Dépôt national des condamnations criminelles maintenu par la GRC, il ne s’agit pas d’une fouille du casier judiciaire canadien. De plus, s’ils ne veulent pas vous dire quel service de police ils utilisent, méfiez-vous. S’ils vous fournissent un nom d’agence, n’ayez pas peur d’appeler ce service de police et de leur demander carrément s’ils effectuent la recherche de casier judiciaire pour le fournisseur de dépistage proposé.
Dans les retombées des « fake news », nous devons tous être conscients que c’est à nous de faire notre propre diligence raisonnable.

Numéro d’assurance sociale (NAS)

Carte SIN

Carte SINQUESTION : Puis-je utiliser ma carte SIN comme pièce d’identité ?

RÉPONSE : La carte NAS n’est pas acceptée par le CIPC comme pièce d’identité valide, car elle peut être facilement manipulée ou copiée. Les empreintes digitales sont maintenant requises pour les travaux contractuels du gouvernement fédéral au Canada.

Vérification criminelle standard vs vérification criminelle améliorée

Est-ce vraiment mieux? Dans le monde du dépistage de fond, la réponse est généralement OUI! Savez-vous qu’il y a une vérification standard des casiers judiciaires et une version améliorée? La fouille standard des casiers judiciaires donnera lieu à une réponse affirmative de la GRC si le demandeur déclare honnêtement lui-même toutes les infractions criminelles criminelles qui lui ont été déclarées coupables et pour lesquelles il n’a pas reçu de réhabilitation.

Une recherche améliorée de casier judiciaire est quelque chose comme le me suréize des recherches de casier judiciaire. Il couvre le même territoire qu’une fouille standard du casier judiciaire, mais comprend également toutes les accusations en instance, les accusations qui n’ont pas donné lieu à des condamnations, des mandats, des interdictions, des ordonnances de probation et des indices de la police locale.

La recherche améliorée est particulièrement utile lors de l’embauche d’un candidat qui peut être employé dans une certaine position de confiance où un casier judiciaire serait extrêmement risqué. Une vérification standard ne vous dira pas que le demandeur a récemment été accusé d’une infraction et qu’il ne comparaîtra peut-être devant le tribunal qu’après les avoir embauchés. Si le demandeur était déclaré coupable de conduite avec facultés affaiblies et que vous les embauchiez sans le savoir avant sa déclaration de culpabilité, la conduite pourrait être l’une de ses fonctions. Vous n’auriez aucun moyen de connaître la condamnation récente de l’employé, à moins qu’il ne vous la divulgue, et qu’un employé conduise un véhicule de l’entreprise sans permis. Si un accident devait se produire, les conséquences seraient désastreuses.

À moins que votre entreprise effectue des vérifications régulières, vous pourriez embaucher quelqu’un sans casier judiciaire qui est reconnu coupable après sa date d’embauche, et ne jamais savoir qu’il a un casier judiciaire. Si vous embauchiez quelqu’un pour entrer dans les résidences du client pour installer ou réparer des appareils, vous pourriez exposer vos clients à des risques inacceptables et en cas d’incident, votre entreprise pourrait être considérée comme coupable parce que vous n’aviez pas fait preuve de diligence raisonnable.

Les recherches améliorées dans les casiers judiciaires ne sont pas nécessaires pour tout le monde, mais pour les entreprises qui devraient les utiliser, c’est un outil inestimable.

Mauvaise embauche = grosses pertes

Il est facile de penser que plus l’organisation est grande, plus il est difficile de garder le contrôle et de connaître vos employés, ce qui permet de protéger votre entreprise, vos clients et vos employés. Bien que cela soit vrai dans une certaine mesure, ce sont les petites entreprises et les organisations qui ont plus à perdre lorsque le pire se produit – vous avez fait une mauvaise embauche.

Dans les grandes organisations, il y a généralement chevauchement dans les rôles des employés et souvent il y a des sauvegardes pour chaque rôle de sorte qu’aucune personne ne fait partie intégrante de l’opération ou complètement responsable des tâches importantes.

Dans les petites entreprises, un employé est souvent responsable du port de plusieurs chapeaux et a accès à des renseignements plus sensibles, simplement parce que le propriétaire n’a d’autre recours que de faire confiance aux quelques personnes qu’il embauche. Dans de nombreux cas, un employeur doit compter sur un ou deux membres du personnel pour gérer son entreprise s’il espère avoir un jour de congé ou des vacances.

C’est pourquoi il est d’une importance vitale que les propriétaires de petites entreprises procèdent à un contrôle très approfondi des antécédents, y compris des vérifications criminelles, des vérifications détaillées des références et la vérification de l’ancien emploi du demandeur. La réalité est que de nombreux propriétaires de petites entreprises n’ont ni le temps ni l’expérience nécessaires pour effectuer ces vérifications des antécédents. Ils sont trop occupés à diriger leur entreprise.

Peu importe la taille de votre entreprise, CSI Background Screening fait de vos besoins d’embauche notre première priorité, et nous avons plus de 15 ans d’expérience dans l’aide aux entreprises du monde entier à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière d’embauche.

Bienvenue au CSI nouveau et amélioré

Nous vous souhaitons la bienvenue sur le nouveau site Web csi background screening qui a été un travail en arrière-plan pour vous apporter la meilleure expérience possible lorsque vous traitez des recherches de fond. Qu’il s’agisse d’une nouvelle recrue ou d’une entreprise qui embauche un nouvel employé, nous savons que l’expérience est beaucoup plus que l’extension d’une famille.

Messages récents

Get the Real Deal! Posted 21 May 2021

CSI Background Screening Blog

Get the Real Deal!

There are only two ways for an employer to obtain a criminal background check on an applicant or an employee. In Canada, before a police agency can conduct a criminal records check on anyone, they must obtain signed informed consent from the individual. Your employer cannot conduct a criminal check without your consent. Neither can your father-in-law to be or your new bff.
Only you can give signed consent to have a criminal records search conducted on your behalf.
Employers can have their employee attend a local police station for a criminal records search and have the applicant provide a copy of the results to their HR department, or they can have the criminal records search conducted by a third party background screening agency.
So while there may be two ways, there is only one right way and that is using a third party background screening agency.
First and foremost, employers should not allow their applicant to have an opportunity to change the results. Scanners, printers and readers have become very sophisticated pieces of equipment – they are even used to print counterfeit currency! It is not difficult to manipulate a document particularly when there is nothing unique on the form such as a protected watermark or a hologram. The results issued by 98 per cent of police agencies are very open to manipulation.
And before you think it can’t happen here, it already has. We are aware of several cases where the applicant turned in a result to their employer that was not the original issued by the police agency. In particular we are aware of a case in Cape Breton where an applicant changed the result to show they did not have a criminal record when in fact they did. This applicant went on to obtain employment for several months, during which time they committed a criminal act while at the workplace. In most cases the manipulation is not discovered until it is too late, with catastrophic results.
Third party background screeners obtain results directly from the police agency and provide the results directly to the employer, not the applicant, so the applicant never has an opportunity to change the results.
Often we find employers receive the results but are then unsure what to do about it. At CSI we are always ready to discuss the results, what they mean and provide any guidance we feel can assist employers with making a decision. And when you call us a real human will answer the phone!
Additionally, we make it easy for you to receive your results, delivered directly to your web portal and stored there for easy access when it’s convenient for you.
Finally, there are pricing advantages to going with a background screening agency. Because we are dealing with police agencies in volume, we can often negotiate better pricing, which means better pricing for the employer.
So for better prices, convenience, accuracy and the comfort of knowing you always have a friend to give you help and advice, you know where to turn.

Is VSS the best solution? Understanding VSS

To VSS or not to VSS?

Employers who currently require applicants to submit to a Vulnerable Sector Search (VSS) as part of their background screening should consider the benefits of conducting Enhanced Criminal Records searches in their place.

More and more we are finding that the VSS search, which is in essence a search of the Pardoned Sex Offender Database held by held by the RCMP, is not meeting the expectations of employers. Many employers think the VSS search gives them access to all criminal records of a prospective applicant, but this is just not so.

The VSS search only returns the records of those individuals who have a pardoned or suspended record for a sexual offence. It will not tell you if they have been pardoned for any other offense. There are only 14,000 individuals currently in the Pardoned Sex Offender database. In 2012 the government legislated that anyone convicted of a sexual offense against a minor was no longer eligible for a pardoned or suspended record, so there has been little growth in the database, and, as it is not a database that is “maintained”, it includes the records of deceased individuals.

For individuals to be granted a Pardon or Suspended Record, the person first must be arrested/charged with a sexual offence, attend court and be found guilty, be convicted of the offense and a sentence must be handed down.  The individual must then serve the entirety of their sentence, pay any fines, make any restitution and complete any probation etc.  Once that has all been completed, then the clock starts on the mandatory wait period. They MUST wait 5 to 10 years before they can even apply for the Pardon or Suspended Record.  Once they apply and obtain all the necessary paperwork and documents, they submit their application and, in most cases, it takes at least 18 months before an answer is provided.  Based on the above, and information received from the Parole Board, it would be impossible for anyone under the age of 35 to be on the Pardoned or Suspended Sex Offender Registry.

When Police agencies conduct a Vulnerable Sector Search, they will see if there is a “hit” on the sex and date of birth, but they will not see any details. The applicant is then fingerprinted and a request is made to the Federal Ministry of Public Safety to review the information and determine if they feel the employer should be made aware of the match.

Interestingly, of the more than 2 million Vulnerable Sector Searches conducted annually in Canada, less than .005 percent result in a match – so 100.

In 2016 the government determined the Federal Ministry of Public Safety should “reinterpret” the regulations surrounding when a match is returned. Prior to 2016, 95% of all matches were returned to employers, but since that date, the percentage has fallen to less than 40%. The reinterpretation included direction to the Ministry that they should assess such things as whether or not the applicant committed the sexual offense against an adult or a child. If the offense was committed against an adult, they are likely to return no match for an applicant who will be working with children. As well, the Federal Ministry of Public Safety has been asked to review such things as how long ago the offense was committed, whether or not the applicant was a member of an ethnic group and the severity of the offense, amongst other criteria.

This means that 60 % of the people in the database with a suspended or pardoned record for a sexual offense are being returned to employers as CLEAR or “no record” when in actual fact they do have a record, but a Federal agency has determined that an employer should not be aware of it. This is a very false sense of security for hiring managers. The RCMP has publicly stated that they take “issue” with the reinterpretation of these regulations and point to cases of people with “disturbing” records who have been returned as CLEAR to work with the vulnerable of our society.

All of the above can take weeks to complete; by the time the applicant attends the police station to conduct the VSS, to be fingerprinted if appropriate, for the Federal Ministry to conduct a review and make a determination, and for the final document to be created and mailed to the employer.

An enhanced criminal records check, conducted with the applicant’s consent, requires no physical visit, is returned in less than 24 hours, and searches for and returns criminal convictions, including any sexual offenses for which a pardon has not been granted, pending charges, charges not resulting in convictions, warrants, prohibitions, probation orders and searches local police indices.

The takeaway here is that you should weigh the alternatives to VSS:

-If your applicants are under 35 years old they cannot be in the Pardoned Sex Offender database.

-The Ministry only returns a positive match in 38% of cases, withholding the records of  62% of the requests when the applicant does in fact hold a pardoned sex offense record.

-Only .005% of the VSS done in Canada result in a match.

An enhanced criminal records check is less expensive for employers, faster, more convenient,  and searches far more records than a VSS search does. The most important factor is that the Enhanced Criminal Records search will reveal if your applicant has any pending charges, prohibitions or probations orders, which a VSS search will not show.

Is it an apple or an orange? Comparing services

Glad that’s in the rearview!
Well, put a pin in 2020! Boy that was the year from hell! Here at CSI Screening we have turned our back firmly on the year which shall not be named, and are trying to look positively at 2021.
One thing we have been looking forward to for a long time is the launch of our new website, which you can find at https://www.csiscreening.com/. Please take a look and if you have any questions or see any mistakes please let me know. If you are a regular user of our website please give us your feedback on how the new site works for you.

Is it an apple? Or an orange?


My mother always told me, compare apples to apples and oranges to oranges. Mind you I think we were probably in a grocery store setting when she told me this, but it applies to who you select to perform your background screening checks for you as well. There are a lot of companies moving into the background screening industry offering criminal checks at very low prices with almost instant turnaround. What seems too good to be true most often is. Many of these companies are offering a criminal record search at rock bottom prices and 5 minute turn around.
In reality, they are performing a search of a database known in the industry as the Global Terrorist Watchlist in place of an actual Canadian criminal records search. While a Global Terrorist Watch list search is great for what it is designed for, it is by no means a Canadian Criminal Records search. However, it is far cheaper for them to conduct this search and pass it off as a criminal records search to the unwary. We offer an Enhanced Global Terrorist Watchlist search to our own clients, but we have certainly never offered it as a substitute for a Canadian Criminal Records Search.
If you are being offered great prices and instant turn around, ask some questions. What database do you search when conducting a Canadian Criminal Records search? If they respond with anything but the National Repository of Criminal Convictions maintained by the RCMP, then it is not a Canadian Criminal Records Search. Further, if they are unwilling to tell you what police agency they use, be very wary. If they provide you with an agency name, don’t be afraid to call that police agency and ask them outright if they perform the criminal records search for the proposed screening provider.
In the fallout from “fake news”, we all need to be aware that it is up to us to do our own due diligence.

Social Insurance Number (SIN)

SIN Card

SIN CardQUESTION :  Can I use my SIN Card as a piece of ID? 

ANSWER:        The SIN card is not accepted by CPIC as a valid piece of ID as it can be easily manipulated or copied. Fingerprints are now required for Federal Government Contract work in Canada.

Standard Criminal Check vs Enhanced Criminal Check

Is more really better? In the world of background screening the answer is usually YES! Do you know there is a standard criminal records check and an Enhanced version? The standard criminal records search will return an affirmative response from the RCMP if the applicant truthfully self-declares all of the indictable criminal offenses which he or she has been convicted of and has not received a pardon for.

An Enhanced criminal records search is something like the supersize me of criminal records searches. It covers the same territory as a standard criminal records search but also includes any pending charges, charges which have not resulted in convictions, warrants, prohibitions, probation orders and local police indices.

The Enhanced search is particularly helpful when hiring an applicant who may be employed in some position of trust where a criminal record would be extremely risky. A standard check will not tell you that the applicant has been recently charged with an offense, and may not be appearing in court until after you have hired them. If the applicant were convicted of impaired driving, and you unknowingly hired them prior to their conviction, driving might be one of their duties. You would have no way of knowing of the employee’s recent conviction, unless they were to disclose it to you, and you could have an employee driving a company vehicle without a license. If an accident were to occur, the consequences would be disastrous.

Unless your company conducts regular rechecks, you might hire someone without a criminal record who is convicted after their hire date, and never know they have a record. If you were hiring someone to enter client’s residences to install or repair devices, you could be exposing your clients to unacceptable risks and should an incident occur, your company might be considered culpable as you had not done your due diligence.

Enhanced criminal records searches are not needed by everyone, but for those companies who should be using them, it is an invaluable tool.

Bad Hire = Big Losses

It’s easy to think that the bigger the organization is the harder it is to maintain control and know your people, thus keeping your business, customers and employees safe. While that is true to some degree, it is the smaller businesses and organizations that have more to lose when the worst happens – you’ve made a bad hire.

In larger organizations there tends to be overlap in employee roles and often there are backups for each role so that no one person is integral to the operation or completely responsible for important duties.

In small businesses, one employee is often responsible for wearing several hats and has access to more sensitive information, simply because the owner has no recourse but to trust the few people they hire. In many cases an employer must depend on one or two staff members to run their business if they ever hope to have a day off or any vacation time.

This is why it is so vitally important that small business owners conduct very thorough background screening, including criminal checks, detailed reference checks and verification of the applicant’s former employment. The reality is that many small business owners have neither the time or the experience in conducting these background checks. They are too busy running their company.

No matter how big or small your company is, CSI Background Screening makes your hiring needs our first priority, and we have over 15 years of experience in helping companies around the world to make informed hiring decisions.

Welcome to the New and Improved CSI

We welcome you to the new CSI Background Screening website that has been a labor in the background to bring you the best experience possible when dealing with background searches. Whether your a new hire, or a company hiring a new employee, we know that the experience is much likened to extending a family.

Recent Posts

Get the Real Deal! Posted 21 May 2021